LETHBRIDGE

Brief of the

October 19, 2023 Organizational Meeting

This document is provided for informational purposes only and is not the approved minutes of the Lethbridge County Council meeting.

VOTING PROCEDURES:

1) Nominations and Voting by Secret Ballot

Council approved that voting be done by secret ballot when there is more than the required number of nominations for the Office of Reeve and Deputy Reeve.

2) Destruction of Ballots

Council approved that all ballots be destroyed at the end of the meeting.

3) Appointment of Scrutineers

Council approved that Jennifer Place, Director of Corporate Services and Devon Thiele, Director of Municipal Development & Infrastructure be appointed as Scrutineers.

ELECTION OF REEVE FOR ENSUING YEAR AND OATH OF OFFICE:

1) Appointment of Reeve

Tory Campbell of Division 2 was appointed Reeve for the 2023 – 2024 year.

ELECTION OF DEPUTY REEVE FOR ENSUING YEAR AND OATH OF OFFICE:

1) Appointment of Deputy Reeve

John Kuerbis of Division 4 was appointed Deputy Reeve for the 2023 – 2024 year.

APPOINTMENT OF INTERNAL COMMITTEES:

1) Agricultural Service Board

Klaas VanderVeen, Lorne Hickey, John Kuerbis, Eric Van Essen

2) Audit Committee

Lorne Hickey, John Kuerbis, Eric Van Essen

3) Emergency Advisory Committee

Mark Sayers, John Kuerbis, Eric Van Essen

4) Bursary Award Committee

Mark Sayers, Eric Van Essen, Lorne Hickey

APPOINTMENT OF EXTERNAL COMMITTEES:

1) ASB Delegates with Voting Privileges

Council approved that the two current delegates, Lorne Hickey and Klaas VanderVeen remain in place until the next ASB meeting when the Board can revisit the delegate positions.

2) Family and Community Support Services

Lorne Hickey

3) Chinook Arch Regional Library System

Tory Campbell

4) Coaldale Chamber of Commerce

Mark Sayers

5) Community Futures

John Kuerbis

6) County of Lethbridge Co-op Seed Cleaning Plant

Morris Zeinstra

7) Economic Development Lethbridge

Tory Campbell

8) Green Acres Foundation

Lorne Hickey

9) Highway 3 Twinning

Eric Van Essen, John Kuerbis (Alternate)

10) Intermunicipal Committee – City of Lethbridge

Lorne Hickey, Tory Campbell, John Kuerbis

11) Intermunicipal Committee – Town of Coaldale

Mark Sayers, Tory Campbell, Lorne Hickey

12) Intermunicipal Committee – Town of Coalhurst

Klaas VanderVeen, John Kuerbis, Morris Zeinstra

13) Intermunicipal Committee – Town of Nobleford

Eric Van Essen, John Kuerbis

14) Intermunicipal Committee – Town of Picture Butte

Klaas VandeVeen, Morris Zeinstra, Eric Van Essen

15) Intermunicipal Committee - Village of Barons

Morris Zeinstra

16) Lethbridge & District Exhibition Board

Tory Campbell

17) Lethbridge Regional Waste Management Services Commission

Klaas VanderVeen, John Kuerbis

18) Lethbridge Regional Water Services Commission

Mark Sayers, John Kuerbis

19) Malloy Drain Steering Committee

Tory Campbell, Lorne Hickey, Mark Sayers (Alternate)

20) Oldman River Regional Services Commission

Morris Zeinstra

21) Picture Butte Chamber of Commerce

Eric Van Essen

22) Southern Alberta Energy from Waste Association

Klaas VanderVeen

23) SouthGrow Regional Initiative

Mark Sayers

24) Southern Regional Stormwater Drainage Committee

Tory Campbell, Eric Van Essen (Alternate)

25) Water Co-op Liaison Committee

Mark Sayers, Klaas VanderVeen, John Kuerbis

26) Link Pathway Committee

Klaas VanderVeen, Morris Zeinstra

APPOINTMENT OF OFFICIALS:

1) Acts Appeal Committee (Soil Conservation, Weed & Pest Control Appeal Committee)

Council appointed Bryan Harbers, Rob Van Diemen, and Steve Campbell as Members-at-Large.

2) Subdivision and Development Appeal Board (SDAB)

Council appointed Leroy Pavan, Kim Jensen and Evert Van Essen as Member-at-Large.