

Council Brief of the October 17, 2019 Organizational Meeting

Please note that this document is provided for informational purposes only and is not the approved minutes of the Lethbridge County Council meeting.

ELECTION OF REEVE FOR ENSUING YEAR, APPOINTMENT BY RESOLUTION AND OATH OF OFFICE:

Lorne Hickey was elected as Reeve for the 2019-2020 term.

APPOINTMENT OF DEPUTY REEVE FOR ENSUING YEAR, BY RESOLUTION, ON ROTATING BASIS AND OATH OF OFFICE:

As per the Procedural Bylaw #19-041, the role of Deputy Reeve for the 2019-2020 term is on a rotational basis. Councillors Ken Benson, Steve Campbell, Tory Campbell, Robert Horvath, Morris Zeinstra and Klaas VanderVeen will serve in the Deputy Reeve role.

APPOINTMENT OF INTERNAL COMMITTEES:

Council members were appointed to the following internal committees:

1) Emergency Advisory Committee

Tory Campbell, Ken Benson and Steve Campbell

2) Agricultural Service Board Chairman

Steve Campbell

3) Audit Committee

Tory Campbell, Ken Benson and Lorne Hickey

4) Labour Relations

Lorne Hickey, Morris Zeinstra and Robert Horvath

REPRESENTATIVE FOR EXTERNAL COMMITTEES:

Council members were appointed to the following external committees:

1) Chinook Arch Regional Library

Tory Campbell

2) Coaldale Chamber of Commerce

Robert Horvath

3) Community Futures Lethbridge Region

Steve Campbell

4) County Irrigation & Alberta Irrigation Projects Association

Morris Zeinstra and Klaas VanderVeen

5) County of Lethbridge Co-op Seed Cleaning Plant Association

Morris Zeinstra

6) Foothills Little Bow – Director

Lorne Hickey

7) Green Acres Foundation

Ken Benson

8) Intermunicipal Committee - Village of Barons

Steve Campbell

9) Intermunicipal Committee - Town of Coaldale

Lorne Hickey, Tory Campbell, and Robert Horvath

10) Intermunicipal Committee - Town of Coalhurst

Ken Benson, Steve Campbell, and Klaas VanderVeen

11) Intermunicipal Committee - City of Lethbridge

Lorne Hickey, Robert Horvath, and Ken Benson

12) Intermunicipal Committee - Town of Nobleford

Steve Campbell, Klaas VanderVeen, and Morris Zeinstra

13) Intermunicipal Committee - Town of Picture Butte

Steve Campbell, Klaas VanderVeen, and Morris Zeinstra

14) Lethbridge & District Exhibition Board

Steve Campbell

15) Lethbridge Regional Waste Management Services Commission

Tory Campbell and Klaas VanderVeen

16) Lethbridge Regional Water Services Commission

Tory Campbell and Robert Horvath

17) Link Pathway Society

Tory Campbell

18) Malloy Drain Steering Committee

Tory Campbell and Robert Horvath

19) North County Potable Water Co-op

Morris Zeinstra

20) Picture Butte Chamber of Commerce

Morris Zeinstra

21) Southern Alberta Energy from Waste Association

Klaas VanderVeen

22) Agriculture Service Board Delegates with Voting Privileges

Steve Campbell and Morris Zeinstra were appointed as the ASB Delegates with Voting Privileges with Tory Campbell as the Alternate.

23) Barons-Eureka-Warner Family & Community Support Services

Robert Horvath

24) Economic Development Lethbridge

Klaas VanderVeen

25) Highway 3 Twinning Development Association

Ken Benson

26) Oldman River Regional Services Commission

Morris Zeinstra

27) SouthGrow Regional Initiative

Robert Horvath

28) Southern Regional Stormwater Drainage Committee

Tory Campbell and Klaas VanderVeen (Alternate)